Our Town

Art by Hannah Oppedahl

ECT’s Summer Production

“We all know that something is eternal. And it ain’t houses and it ain’t names, and it ain’t earth, and it ain’t even the stars . . . everybody knows in their bones that something is eternal, and that something has to do with human beings.” – Thorton Wilder

Evansville Community Theatre presents the American classic Our Town July 22 – July 30, 2022 at the Evansville High School Performing Art Centers.  Curtain time and dates for the performances are July 22, 23, 29 and 30 at 7:00p, and July 24 at 2:00p. 

A landmark in American drama, Thornton Wilder’s Pulitzer Prize-winning Our Town tells the story of a small town, Grover’s Corners, New Hampshire, in order to tell us the story of every town, the whole world over. Narrated by the “Stage Manager”, we follow the Gibbs and Webb families, residents of Grover’s Corners, through twelve years of life changes — from the mundane in Act I, “Daily Life,” to the romantic in Act II, “Love and Marriage,” to the devastating in Act III, “Death and Eternity.” Through the young lovers Emily and George, their strong and loving parents, and the many other Grover’s Corners’ locals, Wilder delivers universal truths about what it means to be human.

The ensemble cast includes Luke Smetters (Monroe) as Stage Manager, Ally Buckets (Monroe) as Emily Webb,  Aiya Islam (Verona) as George Gibbs, Michael Spevacek (Madison) as Dr. Gibbs, Holin Kennan (Evansville) as Mrs Gibbs, Layla Duvall (Monroe) as Rebecca Gibbs, Matt Pulda (Oregon) as Mr. Webb, Jewels Kind (Evansville) as Mrs. Webb, Ollie Schnepper (Evansville) as Wally Webb, Ike Leverton (Monroe) as Joe Crowell Jr., Melissa Schnepper (Evansville) as Hannah Newsome, Tim Yanacheck (Oregon) as Professor Willard, Dave Sobeski (Evansville) as Simon Stimson, Jen Coppes (Monroe) as Mrs. Soames, Eric Easterhouse (Evansville) as Constable Warren, Josiah Leverton (Monroe) as Sam Craig and Joe Leverton (Monroe) as Joe Stoddard. 

Tickets are now on sale and can be purchased online at https://ecttickets.ludus.com/index.php.  Ticket prices are $15 for adults and $10 for students and seniors.

For ongoing show updates, check Facebook @evansvillecommunitytheatre or visit Evansville Community Theatre’s website at http://www.ecttheater.com.